Methodology About Subscribe

August Edition — Operator Thinning

Analyzing transactions recorded May 1 – June 30, 2026

This Issue August 2026 edition

132 vs 327
Recorded flip resales this edition versus the same two-month window a year ago; operators closing at least one exit fell to 87 from 192

Flip resales fell to 132 from 327 a year ago, and the operator field thinned faster than the deal count

Recorded flip resales came in at 132 this edition against 327 a year ago, and the number of operators closing at least one exit fell to 87 from 192. The survivors are more concentrated: the top ten took roughly 58% of estimated flip revenue, against about 39% a year ago. The buy side is thinner still — 181 homes bought by flippers versus 406. Median hold on completed exits was 166 days versus 175. Counts are recorded instruments and lag four to eight weeks, and the most recent month can grow as late records arrive.

Investor Playbook

What this issue's numbers suggest checking, by investor type. Observations from recorded data — not investment, legal, or tax advice.

Aim the buyer list where flip exits actually moved

Wholesalers
With 87 operators closing exits versus 192 a year ago, a broadcast blast is less useful than a short list. The data suggests concentrating on the north Clay County corridor — 64118 (Nashua) at 6.1% of exits versus 0.9% a year ago and 64155 (Shoal Creek) at 3.8% versus 0.3% — plus 64132 (Swope Park) at 4.5% versus 1.5%. The typical flipped house this period was about 1,301 sqft, three beds, built around 1962; contracts outside that box are worth pricing more conservatively.

Hold discipline is holding, but the aged tail is growing

Flippers
Median hold on the 132 exits was 166 days, slightly tighter than 175 a year ago, and 30% turned in under 90 days. Against that, 43 holdings aged out in the latest month while only 115 were bought. Gross margin is estimated at roughly $81,070, or about 32% of estimated resale, and rehab and carry are not in the public record — treat it as a ceiling, not a profit. With inventory at 3,045 and fewer competing operators, the constraint this period looks like acquisition, not exit.

Less flipper competition in Jackson's older stock

Landlords
Jackson took 46% of flip exits versus 62% a year ago while flip buying fell to 181 from 406, so the operators bidding on 1950s-60s houses are fewer. Investor purchases still concentrated in 64130 (47 buys), 64133 (29) and 64132 (25). Pre-1940 stock drew 219 purchases and the 1950s 150, so inspection budget matters more than headline basis. Prices in these records are estimates — about 48% are back-computed from the recorded mortgage — so verify basis independently before underwriting rent-to-price.

Rehab money for the three-to-eight-deal band

Private lenders
Only 21 private loans were recorded this edition against 68 a year ago, while 44% of the 446 financed purchases over the trailing twelve months carried rehab dollars. The 802 operators in the three-to-eight lifetime-flip band run a median hold of 202 days on roughly 1,404 sqft, 3-bed houses built around 1960 — longer carry than the 166-day market median. That gap between programme-lender terms and a 200-day project is where the data suggests a small private book can be placed.

2-4 units are being bought to hold, not to flip

Multifamily investors
Small multi made up just 4.5% of flip exits, while 81 of the 980 investor purchases were 2-4 unit buildings at an estimated median around $365,085 and roughly $173 per sqft — close to the estimated $178 per sqft on single family. On that estimated basis there is little per-sqft discount for taking on additional units, so the case rests on unit count and rent roll rather than on entry price. Apartment 5+ transactions numbered 15 this edition.

Factoids

Numbers from this period a practitioner would repeat to a colleague. Each computed directly from recorded instruments.

58% top-ten share — Share of estimated flip revenue taken by the ten largest operators

trending up · vs about 39% a year ago
Fewer operators are closing exits and the largest ones hold a materially bigger slice of the estimated dollars. Bidding for the same house is now a shorter list of names.

181 flip purchases — Homes bought by flippers this edition

trending down · vs 406 a year ago
The refill rate has dropped further than the exit rate, and flip-held inventory stood at 3,045 in the latest month against 3,451 a year earlier. Aged-out holdings ran 43 in the latest month.

Clay 20% of flip exits — Clay County share of recorded flip resales; Jackson at 46%

trending up · Clay was 6% and Jackson 62% a year ago
Johnson County also moved up to 22% from 13%. Within zips, 64118 (Nashua) went to 6.1% of exits from 0.9%, and 64155 (Shoal Creek) to 3.8% from 0.3%.

980 investor purchases — All recorded residential investor purchases this edition

trending down · vs 1,182 a year ago and 1,055 in the prior period
Purchase volume is off 17% year over year, a shallower decline than the flip side. Single family accounted for 827 of the 980; 2-4 unit deals numbered 81.

21 private loans — Recorded private-lender loans this edition

trending down · vs 68 a year ago
Recorded private lending is scarce; institutional programme lenders dominate the trailing-twelve-month table, with Kiavi at 43 loans across 17 borrowers. Financed share was 39% of 1,139 observed purchases over the trailing twelve months.

15 assignments surfaced — Wholesale assignments that touched a recorded deed

trending down · vs 58 a year ago and 26 in the prior period
This is a floor, since most assignments never hit a deed, but the direction matches the thinner flipper buy side. The end-buyer list for an assigned contract is shorter than it was.

Market Activity — Investor Purchases

Monthly count of investor purchases of MSA properties (left axis) and the median purchase price (right axis), trailing 13 months. The most recent month can grow up to ~15% as late recordings arrive.

Monthly investor purchases and median price
Investor purchases per month (bars) and median purchase price (line), trailing 13 months.
Investor purchases by decade the house was built
Which vintage of housing investors bought this edition, by decade built.

Where the Money Went

The geography of the period's investor activity: which zip codes saw the most recorded deals, and the largest individual transactions at street level.

The 8 busiest zip codes for investor deals

Pins rank the busiest zips by recorded investor deals (purchases + flips of existing homes) this period — #1 busiest; orange = top 3; pin size scales with deal volume. Median buy is the typical investor purchase; median sale the typical flip resale. Click a pin for details; full table below.
#ZipAreaPurchasesFlipsMedian buyMedian sale
#164130Marlborough476$163,856$174,496
#264133Raytown East295$212,135$238,009
#364132Swope Park256$162,925$182,010
#466062Olathe South272$739,347n/a
#564052Independence West242$194,446n/a
#664119Antioch193$233,415n/a
#764050Independence173$145,768n/a
#864055Independence South164$202,622n/a
Dollar figures on this page are estimates. This county does not disclose sale prices, so 48% of them are back-computed from the recorded mortgage at an assumed loan-to-value. Treat every price, margin and per-foot figure as indicative. Counts, dates, hold times, parties and geography come from the deed record itself and are unaffected.

A representative deal in each of the busiest zips

One deal per zip: the largest matching this market's typical house (typical for this market: 1404 sqft, 3 bed, built around 1960; priced within 4x the county assessment and under 5x its own zip's median).

Street view of 3917 NE 59TH ST
$460,047 · Purchase
3917 NE 59TH ST, Kansas City MO 64119
Single family · 1,634 sqft · Jun 23
Street View Jun 2019 — before the purchase
Street view of 915 S TRAIL RIDGE DR
$367,678 · Purchase
915 S TRAIL RIDGE DR, Independence MO 64050
Single family · 1,851 sqft · May 14
Street View Sep 2024 — before the purchase
Street view of 629 S CRYSLER AVE # 1
$356,243 · Purchase
629 S CRYSLER AVE # 1, Independence MO 64052
Single family · 1,829 sqft · Jun 23
Street View Jan 2024 — before the purchase
Street view of 3912 S CHRISTOPHER CIR
$345,800 · Purchase
3912 S CHRISTOPHER CIR, Independence MO 64055
Single family · 2,018 sqft · Jun 16
Street View May 2024 — before the purchase
Street view of 10805 E 65TH ST
$319,067 · Purchase
10805 E 65TH ST, Raytown MO 64133
Single family · 1,394 sqft · May 7
Street View May 2024 — before the purchase
Street view of 1875 E 76TH TER
$266,000 · Purchase
1875 E 76TH TER, Kansas City MO 64132
Single family · 1,910 sqft · May 26
Street View Oct 2014 — before the purchase
Street view of 4420 BENTON BLVD
$214,263 · Purchase
4420 BENTON BLVD, Kansas City MO 64130
Single family · 1,883 sqft · Jun 9
Street View Mar 2019 — before the purchase

Deal sheet — private lending, in date order

Private loans recorded against residential property this period, oldest first.

DateLenderAmountPropertyUse
May 1Smith Gerald$168,81313559 W 58TH Ter, Shawnee NE 66216Single family
May 1Birdsong Richard$40,0004631 W 61ST ST, Fairway KS 66205Single family
May 4Goodwin Mark$135,0008108 E 92ND Ter, Kansas City NE 64138Single family
May 5Abaugh RD TR$40,0007801 Ne San Rafael DR, Kansas City IA 64119Single family
May 5Abaugh RD TR$40,0007801 Ne San Rafael DR, Kansas City IA 64119Single family
May 7Holsinger Trevor$271,0003625 NW Anchor CT, Blue Springs KS 64015Single family
May 12Revocable Trust Agreement of D$164,00010420 Palmer Ave, Kansas City MO 64134Single family
Jun 1Mo Electric Cooperatives Emp C$159,400508 N Main ST, Butler MO 64730Single family

Largest flip margin deals of the period, at street level

Gross margin = recorded sale price minus the flipper's recorded purchase price. Purchase deeds are recoverable for roughly 4 in 10 flips; rehab and carry costs are not public record.

Street view of 6717 W 65TH TER
$296,280 gross · bought $390,000 (Mar 2026) → sold $686,280
6717 W 65TH TER, Mission KS 66202
Single family · 2,108 sqft · May 27
Street View May 2026 — during the flip
Street view of 5205 W 99TH ST
$291,356 gross · bought $290,000 (Apr 2026) → sold $581,356
5205 W 99TH ST, Overland Park KS 66207
Single family · 2,662 sqft · Jun 1
Street View Nov 2022 — before the flip (pre-renovation)
Street view of 12701 APPLEWOOD DR
$271,517 gross · bought $163,000 (Aug 2025) → sold $434,517
12701 APPLEWOOD DR, Grandview MO 64030
Single family · 1,248 sqft · May 4
Street View Aug 2024 — before the flip (pre-renovation)
Street view of 1516 E 99TH ST
$239,463 gross · bought $190,000 (Nov 2024) → sold $429,463
1516 E 99TH ST, Kansas City MO 64131
Single family · 2,395 sqft · May 12
Street View May 2026 — during the flip
Street view of 1401 SE ROYAL ST
$221,578 gross · bought $139,650 (Jul 2025) → sold $361,228
1401 SE ROYAL ST, Oak Grove MO 64075
Single family · 1,056 sqft · May 26
Street View Oct 2024 — before the flip (pre-renovation)
Street view of 9501 GRAND AVE
$219,430 gross · bought $178,572 (Sep 2025) → sold $398,002
9501 GRAND AVE, Kansas City MO 64114
Single family · 1,152 sqft · May 20
Street View Apr 2019 — before the flip (pre-renovation)

Flip Structure — Year over Year

How the flip market itself is changing: margins, who is doing the flipping, what they flip, and where. Same two calendar months, this year vs last, from the current data extract.

Flip market structureSame months last yearThis edition
Flips sold327132
Median sale$283,822$303,374
Median $/sqft$212$217
Sale vs county-assessed1.93×1.96×
Median gross margin (matched buys)$59,850$81,070
Median margin %21%32%
Median hold5.8 mo5.5 mo
Homes bought by flippers406181
Net to inventory (bought − sold)+79+49
Active flippers19287
Top-10 flippers' revenue share39%58%
Median house: sqft / beds / built1346 / 3 / 19611301 / 3 / 1962
Pre-1950 stock share27%23%
2–4 unit share4%5%
Median distance from downtown16.5 km17.0 km
Dollar figures on this page are estimates. This county does not disclose sale prices, so 48% of them are back-computed from the recorded mortgage at an assumed loan-to-value. Treat every price, margin and per-foot figure as indicative. Counts, dates, hold times, parties and geography come from the deed record itself and are unaffected.
Homes bought counts every deed recorded to a known flipper in the window, resold or not. Net to inventory is that minus flips sold. The standing stock is in the Flip Pipeline section.
Attributed profit per flip (per-investor aggregates, by drop period): Feb 26→Jun 26: 1,363 flips, $23,077/flip · Jun 26→Aug 26: 396 flips, $49,558/flip.
County mix (share of flips, last year → this edition): Jackson 62%→46% · Johnson 13%→22% · Clay 6%→20% · Wyandotte 5%→4% · Cass 5%→3% · Caldwell 0%→2% · Platte 4%→2% · Miami 4%→2% · Clinton 0%→1%.
Biggest zip share moves: Nashua 0.9%→6.1% · Shoal Creek 0.3%→3.8% · Swope Park 1.5%→4.5% · Shawnee Northwest 2.8%→0.0% · Spring Hill 3.4%→0.8% · Blue Valley 2.1%→0.0%.

Flip Pipeline — Buying, Selling and Inventory

Homes bought by known flippers and homes they resold, per month, alongside the stock sitting in flipper hands. A house enters inventory when a flipper buys it and leaves on the next recorded sale, at any price. Purchases still unsold after five years are treated as holds and drop out.

Flip purchases, flip sales and inventory by month with projection
Solid = recorded, dashed = projected. Green bars are inventory on the right axis: homes bought and not yet resold. Aged out is purchases passing five years unsold. Inventory moves by bought minus resold minus aged out.
Flip pipelineBought / moResold / moAged out / moInventory
Latest recorded month (2026-05)115155433,045
Projected (2026-11)159194343,237
Method: a straight-line trend through the last 24 months, adjusted for the month of the year, shown dashed as a projection. The series stops before the newest month or two, where deeds are still recording.

Who's Funding the Deals

First mortgages open on flipper purchases from Jul 2025 – Jun 2026 that have not yet resold. 39% carried recorded debt; the rest closed cash or off-record. Ranked by deal count.

39%

Purchases financed
446 of 1,139 flipper purchases carried a recorded first mortgage

$154,000

Typical loan
recorded lien amount; this county does not disclose sale prices, so loan-to-price cannot be computed here
LenderLoansBorrowersMedian loanMedian purchase
Kiavi Funding INC4317$146,700$165,053
Loan Funder LLC214$156,000$183,939
Hometown Equity Mortgage LLC126$147,250$131,500
Commercial Lender LLC116$120,000$86,500
Crossroads MGMT Group LLC97$161,000$97,500
S & P Financial Services INC84$109,858$106,987
Cap One Lending LLC72$172,800$210,140
Dayspring Bank71$137,385$126,076
MB Bank72$154,654$146,300
Community Mortgage LLC65$170,050$217,500
Dollar figures on this page are estimates. This county does not disclose sale prices, so 48% of them are back-computed from the recorded mortgage at an assumed loan-to-value. Treat every price, margin and per-foot figure as indicative. Counts, dates, hold times, parties and geography come from the deed record itself and are unaffected.
Rates and terms are not published: the county feed models both. Borrowers counts the distinct flippers on each lender's book. Loan vs price is the recorded first mortgage divided by what the buyer paid. Above 1.00x the lender is funding purchase plus rehab; below it the buyer brought cash to the table. Blanket mortgages covering several parcels are excluded, as are loans outside 0.1x-3x the price. Rates and points are not public record.

Flipper Profile — The Working Flipper

The 70th–90th percentile of local flippers by lifetime flip count — the established operators below the whales: 3–8 lifetime flips each. Bath counts are not in the assessor extract.

802

Flippers in the band
each with 3–8 lifetime flips (avg 4.3)

$40,000

Median gross margin
5,538 flips matched to their purchase price

6.6 mo

Typical hold
purchase to resale, matched deals

1404 sqft · 3 bd

Typical house
median year built 1960
Flippers by lifetime flip count
flippers by lifetime flips · orange = this band
Where they work: Marlborough (64130) 3% · Hickman Mills (64134) 3% · Raytown East (64133) 3% · Independence West (64052) 3% · Raytown South (64138) 2%.

Market Pulse

per month, Feb–Jun 2026per month, Jun–Aug 2026changeavg/mo 2yravg/mo 4yr
▼ Homes bought by flippers20391-55%194176
▼ Flips sold (deeds)16466-60%181169
▲ Lending deals funded3068+129%——
▲ Seller/notes held (net)1759+258%——
▼ Investors (net)545-340−885/mo——
Flips and flipper purchases = recorded deeds, same two months each year; their 2- and 4-year columns are per-month averages of the deed series. The remaining rows come from the investor file, which spans 13 months, so they have no multi-year average (2026: Jun 2026 → Aug 2026; 2025: Feb 2026 → Jun 2026).

Past Issues

Methodology

Source Data

County recorder & assessor via FARES
Every figure is computed from recorded instruments (deeds, mortgages, assignments) and assessor property records for the five counties of the Kansas City-Elyria MSA. No surveys, no estimates, no listings data.
This edition analyzes transactions dated May 1 – June 30, 2026, as recorded through the 2026-08 data extract.

Who Counts as an Investor

Transaction-pattern identification
Investors are entities whose recorded transaction history looks like investing: rental holding (landlords), short-hold resales (flippers), private mortgage lending, note holding, or contract assignment (wholesalers). Banks, homebuilders, iBuyers, SFR funds, and government entities are identified by name and reported separately from small investors.

How Comparisons Work

Attribution deltas + same-window comparisons
The Market Pulse reports activity attributed between successive data drops, from the per-investor lifetime totals maintained upstream — periods differ in length, so per-month rates are shown. Elsewhere, "vs. year ago" compares the same calendar months one year earlier, counted from the same data extract. Transfers under $5,000 (quitclaims, partial interests) are excluded everywhere. Counts lag recording by 4–8 weeks, and the newest month can grow up to ~15% as late records arrive — direction is reliable before magnitude.

Known Limits

Floors, not ceilings
Wholesale assignments only appear when they touch a recorded deed, so those counts are a floor. Flip hold times are measured from the prior recorded sale. Names are the owner of record, which may be an LLC or trust.

About

Purpose

A working tool for small real estate investors in Greater Kansas City: what actually closed, where, at what prices, and what it suggests checking next — one theme per issue.

Cadence

Published with each bi-monthly data drop, covering the two most recent complete months of recorded activity.

Disclaimer

Observations from public records, not investment, legal, or tax advice. Past activity does not guarantee future results. Verify any property or counterparty independently before transacting.